14 January 2008

2008 Award Winners

Well, thanks to one of those timely New England noreasters, I'm at home (for now.) For the last 15 minutes or so my mobile phone has been ringing with text messages announcing the big prize winners from ALA Midwinter in Philadelphia. (I wonder if it's snowing there, too.) So this is my first live blogcast!

Caldecott Medal: The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (Wow! Talk about breaking the mold.)
Newbery Medal: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! by Laura Amy Schlitz
Printz Award: The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean

And here's the rest of the best:

Sibert Medal: The Wall by Peter Sis.
Awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished
informational book published during the preceding year.

Geisel Award: There is a Bird on Your Head! by Mo Willems.
Given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Carnegie Award: Jump In! Produced by Disney DVD.
Awarded to honor outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year. Supported by the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Batchelder Award Winner: VIZ Media for Brave Story by Miyuki Miyabe.
This award is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Odyssey Award Winner: Jazz, produced by Live Oak Media.
This annual award will be given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. (This is the first year for this award.)

Edwards Award: Orson Scott Card.
Recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

Coretta Scott King: Author: Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis.
Illustrator: Let it Shine by Ashley Bryan.
Awarded annually to authors and illustrators of African descent for their distinguished books for children.

Steptoe: Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything In It by Sundee Frazier.
The award is established to affirm new talent and to offer visibility to excellence in writing and/or illustration which otherwise might be formally unacknowledged within a given year within the structure of the two awards given annually by the Coretta Scott King Task Force.

Schneider Winners: Picture: Kami and the Yaks.
Middle School: Reaching for Sun.
Teen: Hurt Go Happy.
Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Belpre Medals: Author: The Poet Slave of Cuba by Margarita Engle.
Illustrator: Yuyi Morales for Los Gatos Black on Halloween.
Awarded biennially to a Latino/Latina writer and
illustrator in an outstanding work of literature for children.

Congratulations! I'm interested to see what the honor books were in the various categories. And I guess this is also a good time to see if the copy of Good Master! Sweet Ladies! that I ordered for work has arrived yet.

No comments:

Add This


Blog Widget by LinkWithin